Subsequent Taxes

If you as a property owner have delinquent
taxes that have not been redeemed by ap-
proximately the third week in September
and the first or second installment of the
current taxes are still unpaid, the tax buyer
can pay those current taxes. The current
tax amount is then added to the redemption
amount as subsequent taxes. A 12% annual
interest penalty is added on for each year or
portion thereof between the date of that
payment and the date of redemption. The
indemnity fee is also added to the total re-
quired to be paid. Ref: SUBSEQUENT
TAXES [35 ILCS 200/21-355 (c), (d), (e)]

If the tax buyer has begun deed proceed-
ings, (35 ILCS 200/22-30) subsequent tax-
es can be purchased any time after the tax
bills are mailed.
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Piece Together the Past

Thousands of Birth, Marriage and
Death records are available at:

www.genealogy.kanecountyclerk.org



The school year is fast approaching. Time
to get your children enrolled in school. In
the hustle and bustle of getting school sup-
plies, going to orientation, and the many
other things that go along with going back
to school, a birth certificate may be need-
ed to get your child enrolled in school.
The Kane County Clerk’s Office is the
holder of records for people born in Kane
County, Illinois. If your child was born in
any of the following listed hospitals in
Kane County, such as Delnor, Geneva
Community Hospital (now closed), St. Jo-
seph Hospital, Sherman Hospital, Pres-
ence Mercy Center, or Rush Copley, the
Kane County Clerk’s office should have
the record on file. The parents listed on
the document, the child if they are 18 or
older or a court ordered legal guardian,
are the people that can obtain the birth
certificate. The record can be requested
in person, by mail, or ordered via the in-
ternet at . A valid gov-
ernment issued photo ID is required to ob-
tain the document. Fees for the birth cer-
tificates are $11.00 for the FIRST CERTI-
FIED COPY, and $4.00 for each addition-
al certified copy of the SAME DOCU-
MENT. By state law our office cannot
provide information from a birth certifi-
cate or other vital record over the phone.
If you have questions or concerns, please
call our office for further instructions at

visit our website at

and look under
Vital Records. Please note: If your child
was born in another county, you would
need to go to the county office in the
county where the hospital is located to ob-
tain the birth record.
The Kane County
Clerk’s office only holds
records for those life
events that took place in
Kane County.

Passport Corner

Items required for a passport to be processed
at the Kane County Clerk’s office:

-Certified birth certificate (must be an Illinois
issued abstract with parent’s name(s) on it if a
Kane County birth!)

-Check or Money Order for the Passport Fee.

-Passport sized photos.

-Driver’s License or State issued ID if age 16
or older

See our website for more passport details:
www.co.kane.il.us/coc/Records/Passports

“UP FRONT”, a bi-monthly newsletter will be posted on the Kane County Clerk’s website. If you prefer to
receive newsletter via e mail, please contact Susan at: ericsonsusan@co.kane.il.us
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http://www.vitalchek.com
http://www.kanecountyclerk.org

Following are the Illinois Public Library Per
Capita and Equalization Aid Grants require-
ments for FY2015. These grants are made
available under the provisions of Illinois Com-
piled Statutes, 75 ILCS 10/8 and 10/8.1. In-
cluded for FY2015 are requirements for partici-
pation in The Edge Initiative. Forthcoming re-
quirements for FY2016 and FY2017 will also
include The Edge Initiative; the Illinois State
Library will fully support access for public li-
braries throughout the FY2015-2017 public li-
brary per capita requirement cycle.

The Edge Initiative was developed by a nation-
al coalition of leading library and local govern-
ment organizations, funded by the Bill and
Melinda Gates Foundation, and led by the Ur-
ban Libraries Council. It was created with the
vision that all people should have opportunities
to enrich and improve their lives through open
access to information, communication, and
technology services provided by public librar-
ies. Edge is a...management and leadership
tool, helping libraries create a path for the con-
tinuous growth and development of their public
technology services. ...The Edge Toolkit gives
libraries a look into their local data, from opera-
tions to partnerships and programming, to as-
sess how their community is using the technol-
ogy and how best practices can be put into
place to align future growth and services with
community priorities. It also provides useful
resources to package and showcase the data to
other community leaders.

FY2015 Requirements Annual Report

The library must have a current Illinois Public
Library Annual Report (IPLAR) on file with
the Illinois State Library. The IPLAR deadlines

Illinois State Library
Per Capita Grants

are detailed in the Illinois Compiled Statutes
(ILCS):

 For municipal (city, incorporated town, village
or township) libraries, the report shall be submit-
ted within 60 days after the expiration of the
fiscal year [75 ILCS 5/4-10].

* For public library districts, the report shall be
submitted on or before September 1 of each year
[75 ILCS 16/30-65].

» Non-compliance/non-submission of the IPLAR
jeopardizes a public library’s receipt of grant
funding from the Illinois State Library. Grants
affected include, but are not limited to, Public
Library Per Capita and Equalization Aid; Live
and Learn Public Library Construction; and Li-
brary Services and Technology Act (LSTA).

Standards Chapter Review

The library staff and board must review and re-
port on progress in meeting Chapter 7,
“Collection Management and Resource Shar-
ing,” of Serving Our Public 3.0: Standards for
Illinois Public Libraries, 2014.

Education and Training

At least one member of the library staff must at-
tend one instructional course from one of the re-
gional library systems or the Illinois State Li-
brary.

Call the office of John A. Cunningham, Kane
County Clerk to have your library’s Per Capita
Grant Form sent to you.
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If opportuanity
doesnmt kirrocéfk, build
a doosr.™"

Milton Berxle
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GENERAL ELECTION -NOVEMBER 4, 2014

become registered voters in Kane County.

at 630-232-5990.

ONLINE VOTER REGISTRATION NOW AVAILABLE

The Kane County Clerk, John A. Cunningham would like to inform residents that the State of
[llinois has implemented a new law (ILCS 10ILCS5/1A-16.5) regarding Paperless Online Vot-
er Application or online voter registration. The new law took effect July 1, 2014.

Kane County residents are now able to visit the State Board of Elections website and fill out a
form to register to vote. The State Board of Elections will route the online voter applications
to the County Clerk’s Office for processing and to confirm that the applicants are qualified to

Kane County residents can visit the Illinois State Board of Elections Online Voter Application
website, https://ova.elections.il.gov to register to vote, or, they can visit the Illinois State
Board of Elections main website, http://www.elections.state.il.us.

Residents may also visit the Kane County Elections website, www.kanecountyelections.org,
and click on “Register to Vote” tab at the top left column to find the link to the Illinois State
Board of Elections website. If residents have any questions regarding the new Paperless

Online Voter Application or voter registration, please contact the Kane County Clerk’s Oftice

GRACE PERIOD EXTENDED

The State Board of Elections has extended grace period registration and voting to Election Day. Two forms

of current identification are required. Individuals must vote after completing the registration process.

The Kane County Clerk, John A. Cunningham
has been encouraging voter registration
at several events:

« Geneva Swedish Days Festival
« The Kane County Fair
« Parades throughout Kane County

« Kane County Senior Health Fair hosted by Illinois
State Senator Karen McConnaughay

LAST DAY TO REGISTER TO VOTE
TUE, OcT 7, 2014
GRACE PERIOD REGISTRATION

WED, OCT 8, 2014 -
TUE, Nov 4, 2014

ABSENTEE VOTING PERIOD

THu, SEP 25, 2014 -
MOoN, Nov 3, 2014

EARLY VOTING PERIOD

MOoN, OcT 20, 2014 -
SUN, Nov 2, 2014




